Monday Book Club

Book Club Meetings   2017 – 2018

7:00 PM – CLCW Room – 2nd Monday of the Month

Everyone is welcome.  Please join us whether you have read the book or not.

  • Monday, September 11, 2017 – led by Arlene Dietz
    Babbitt by Sinclair Lewis  *F (Classic)
  • Monday, October 9, 2017 * led by Kathleen Heinz
    Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood (Account of Life Under Apartheid) by Trevor Noah  *NF
  • Monday, November 13, 2017 * led by Betsy Berg
    Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race by Margot Lee Shetterly  *NF
  • Monday, December 11, 2017 * led by Sue Kilber
    Pastrix: the Cranky, Beautiful Faith of a Sinner and Saint by Nadia Bolz-Weber  *NF
  • Monday, January 8, 2018 * led by Elizabeth Uhlig
    The Shepherd’s Life: Modern Dispatches from an Ancient Landscape (A Tale of the Lake District) by James Rebanks  *NF
  • Monday, February 12, 2018 * led by Tonya Cockram
    The Lemon Tree: An Arab, a Jew, and the Heart of the Middle East by Sandy Tolan  *NF
  • Monday, March 12, 2018 * led by Tonya Cockram
    Take This Bread: A Radical Conversion by Sara Miles  *NF
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 * led by Elizabeth Uhlig
    Where the Dead Pause and the Japanese Say Goodbye by Marie Mutsuki Mockett   *NF
  • Monday, May 14, 2018 * led by Gretchen Simas
    The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead  *F
  • Monday, June 11, 2018 * led by Gary Wolfe
    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis by J. D. Vance  *NF
  • Monday, July 9, 2018 — *6:00 PM* Annual Salad Potluck Book Choosing Meeting * Parish Hall, Kitchen, Library

 

CLCW Mission Donations for 2015

WELCA – Women of the ELCA

Lutheran World Relief – Quilt Sunday

Lutheran Council, Portland, OR for Quilt Freight Costs

Augusta Victoria Hospital – Mt. of Olives, Jerusalem thru :lutheran World Federation

Camp Lutherwood

Eugene Mission

First Place Family Development Center

FISH

Good Samaritan Society Eugene Village

Jasper Mountain Home for Youth

Senior Connections

WomenSpace 

Food for Lane County