Wolfgang Rübsam Concert

Bach on the Brombaugh

An Organ Concert by Wolfgang Rübsam

Sunday, October 10, 2021 at 4 p.m.

Central Lutheran Church, 18th Avenue and Potter Street, Eugene, OR
Vaccination cards, Masks and social distancing required for in person attendance

Program will be live-streamed at ConnectToCentral.org.

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Sonata No. 1  E-flat Major. BWV 525
Partite diverse sopra “Sei gegrüßet, Jesu gütig” BWV 768
Prelude and Fugue in C Minor. BWV 546
Choraleprelude: Schmücke Dich o liebe Seele, BWV654
Passacaglia c minor BWV 582

No Admission charge

Program will be live-streamed at ConnectToCentral.org. Program, vitae also on line.
Co-sponsored with the University of Oregon’s School of Music and Dance
Mr. Rübsam is the John Hamilton visiting Professor/lecturer with Julia Brown for 2021.  Additional programs available at the School of Music and Dance, University of Oregon between October 11-15.

Wolfgang Rübsam is internationally known for his over 100 highly acclaimed organ repertoire recordings of baroque and romantic literature, as well as for his Naxos Bach recordings on the modern piano. Since 2017 he has also made many recordings on the “Lautenwerk,” a special harpsichord with gut strings without dampers, an instrument that Johann Sebastian Bach loved very much because of its cantabile character.
When Wolfgang Rübsam won the Grand Prix de Chartres in interpretation in 1973, he became professor of church music and organ at Northwestern University in Chicago / Evanston, Illinois. During his 23-year tenure, he was also university organist at the University of Chicago for the Rockefeller Memorial Chapel. In the 14 years following, he taught at the University of Music in Saarbrücken Germany. Rubsam has given numerous concerts and master classes in the USA and in Europe, as well as serving on juries for the most renowned international organ competitions.

Tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.